Sign In

Forgot your password?

Password Reset

Structural Cardiac Intervention Group

The BCIS Structural Working Group was formed in 2017 to meet the demands of the increasing practice of structural cardiac intervention, in particular the exponential growth of TAVI as an intervention for aortic stenosis, which is continuing to grow worldwide. In addition to TAVI, there is now a large number of other structural procedures and techniques (each with several CE marked devices) which need oversight from BCIS as the UK Professional Society.

The group includes representatives from the Heart Rhythm Society, the Society for Cardiac and Thoracic Surgeons, British Congenital Cardiac Association, NICE and NICOR, as well as individuals representing each of the mainstream structural procedures. The purpose of the group is to improve the quality and practice of structural intervention in the UK by developing position statements, guidelines and research/innovation. We aim to improve the quality of structural intervention in the UK and address inequity of provision across the country. To achieve this the group works with other BCIS working groups, Professional Societies, NHS commissioners and regulatory bodies to highlight any problems and provide expert consensus opinion on how to overcome these.



Philip MacCarthy


King’s College Hospital

David Hildick-Smith

CRG Representative

Peter Ludman

BCIS Audit Secretary & DMAG Lead

Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham

Adrian Banning

TAVI SCIP Representative

John Radcliffe Hospital

Mamta Buch

MitraClip Representative

Manchester University NHS FT

Daniel Blackman

CRG/Valve for Life Representative

Gerald Clesham

Clinical Standards Representative

Basildon Hospital

Douglas Muir

Ordinary Member

James Cook University Hospital

Dave Smith

Ordinary Member

Morriston Hospital

Neal Uren

Ordinary Member

Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh

Tim Betts

BHRS Representative


Hannah Patrick

NICE Representative

Uday Trivedi

SCTS Representative


Steve Livesay

SCTS Representative



Nick Curzen


Southampton University Hospital

Clare Appleby

Honorary Secretary

Liverpool Heart & Chest Hospital

Douglas Fraser