Sign In

Forgot your password?

Password Reset

Clinical Standards Group

The Clinical Standards Group is a small committee of BCIS members and patient representatives. In addition, the President, Secretary, Treasurer and Audit lead of the Society also contribute to the group. Formal meetings are typically held in January and June, although other business is conducted by e-mail throughout the year. The meetings are Chaired by the group lead who manages its activities and reports to the BCIS Council.

The Clinical Standards Group has a broad remit of activities which include the development and review of BCIS statements on clinical practice. The group co-ordinates and supervises the BCIS peer review programme. In addition, the group provides specialist input to the Royal College of Physicians invited service review when required. The group also communicate with NICE, the MHRA, coroners and other national bodies relevant to clinical standards. This can include the co-ordination of BCIS responses to published guidance and statements from such national bodies. The Clinical Standards Group also takes an interest in workforce issues.


Helen Routledge


Worcestershire Royal Hospital

CSG Chair
Stroke Thrombectomy Focus Group

Amanda Hayden

Member Without Portfolio

Worcestershire Royal Hospital

R J Irving

Member Without Portfolio

Ninewells Hospital

Ian Purcell

Member Without Portfolio

Abdul Mozid

Member Without Portfolio

Leeds General Infirmary

Alan Keys

Patient Support Representative – CCP UKas

Mamas Mamas

Audit Secretary & DMAG Lead

Adrian Banning

Co-opted Member

John Radcliffe Hospital


David Hildick-Smith


Brighton & Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Hildick-Smith is a Cardiologist in Brighton with an interest in Clinical Research and Structural Heart Disease

Gerald Clesham

Honorary Secretary

Basildon Hospital

Consultant Cardiologist, Essex Cardiothoracic Centre

Dan McKenzie


Royal United Hospital, Bath